Natural Sciences Faculty

Dr. Amanda Knapp
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: Ferguson 239
Phone: (828) 689-1403
Email: aknapp@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6679
Education: B.S., Xavier University, 2006; Ph.D., The University of Akron, 2011.

Dr. Matthew Milnes
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Wall 320
Phone: (828) 689-1322
Email: mmilnes@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.S., University of Florida, 1996; Ph.D., University of Florida, 2005.

Dr. Meredith Newman
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: Ferguson 238
Phone: (828) 689-1401
Email: mnewman@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6679
Website
Education: B.S., Southern College of SDA, 1981; M.S., Clemson University, 1985; Ph.D., Clemson University, 1990

Ms. Kelly Ottie
Assistant Athletic Trainer, Program Manager of ATEP, Instructor of Athletic Training
Office: Chambers 113
Phone: (828) 689-1217
Email: kottie@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6668
Education: B.S., Gardner-Webb University, 2002; M.A., Gardner-Webb University, 2004.

Dr. Scott Pearson
Professor of Biology; Chair of the Division of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Office: Wall 321
Phone: (828) 689-1402
Email: spearson@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Website
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 1984; M.S., University of Georgia, 1987; Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1991; Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1991-93.

Dr. Andrea Rockel
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Wall 315
Phone: (828) 689-1424
Email: arockel@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 2002; Ph.D., Wake Forest University, 2008.

Mr. Allen Shelley
Head Athletic Trainer and Assistant Professor of Athletic Training
Office: Chambers 208
Phone: (828) 689-1176
Email: ashelley@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6668
Education: B.S., Gardner-Webb College, 1992; M.S., Gardner-Webb University, 1995.

Mr. Alan Smith
Professor of Biology and Chair of the Department of Natural Sciences
Office: Wall 314
Phone: (828) 689-1291
Email: asmith@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.S., University of South Alabama, 1970; M.S., East Tennessee State University, 1975; University of Tennessee at Knoxville, 1975-79.

Ms. Danielle Jones
Assistant Athletic Trainer and Instructor of Athletic Training
Office: Chambers 207
Phone: (828) 689-1245
Email: dvoss@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6668
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 2005; M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke, 2007.